Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program for 2023 (deadline on 11/27/2022)

0 0 votes
Article Rating

The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) is a prestigious national study abroad scholarship, which covers all the cost for a summer study abroad in 2023 to selected countries (including Japan). The program requires some level knowledge of language that you are going to study abroad (for Japanese, it requires at least 2 years of studying). The deadline is on Sunday, November 27, 2022. See below or the CLS website ( for more information.

The introduction video to the CLS scholarship is available here and you can download the program flyer here.

  • About the Critical Language Scholarship
    • The U.S. Department of State funds about 600 students for summer language institutes abroad at various skill levels.
    • CLS is a program of the U.S. Department of State and provides fully funded group-based intensive language instruction and structured cultural enrichment experiences for seven to ten weeks for US citizen graduate students. Scholars will complete language coursework as well meeting with a native speaker language partner.
    • Languages offered: Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Punjabi, Russian, Turkish, and Urdu. Language levels are classified as Beginning, Advanced Beginning, Intermediate, and Advanced. The CLS Program provides undergraduate academic credit through Bryn Mawr College. Upon completion of the program, participants also receive a certified American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI) score.
    CLS One Pager00
    CLS One Pager01
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments